© 2023 by The Book Lover. Proudly created with Wix.com

  • Grey Facebook Icon
  • Grey Twitter Icon
  • Grey Google+ Icon
Please reload

Tag Cloud
Featured Review

My Life with Bob by Pamela Paul

May 7, 2018

1/10
Please reload

Em Muslin- Before You Were Mine

June 9, 2017

5/5 

 

Before You Were Mine 

By Em Muslin 

 

Sometimes hope has a way of changing everything…  

 

Just hours after giving birth, Eli Bell is forced to give up her newborn baby daughter for adoption. Devastated, she tries desperately to rebuild her shattered life.  

Then, over thirty years later, Eli catches sight of her daughter. And she knows that she must do everything to find a way back into her life.  

 

Even if it means lying… While her husband Tommy must grow to accept his own part in the events of her early life, he can only try to save her before her obsession with the young woman ruins them both.  

 

Don’t miss the breathtaking debut Before You Were Mine by Em Muslin! Perfect for fans of Jodi Picoult, Alice Peterson and Lucy Dillon.  

  •  

"Intriguingly beautiful" 

 

Pleasing to the mind, Em Muslin's debut novel, "Before You Were Mine" is written with a beautiful touch where heartbreak meets love and loneliness meets freedom. Every reader can benefit from reading this book as it grabs onto your heart strings and pulls you in to compelling story that includes all aspects of family.

 

A pregnant teen having to give up her baby is something that we hear daily, but Eli's story is unique in so many ways. The depth of emotion that is drawn from Eli is so complex and beautiful, it's simply intriguing to follow her story.  

 

Eli is shunned by her town after being pregnant at such a young age, Tommy seems to be the only silver-lining in Eli's life. Until now. 30 years later, Eli swears she saw her daughter in a store. 

 

Eli’s eyes welled up. ‘She looked like me.’  

 

But of course, her family and husband believe it to be an obsession from her past coming back to haunt her. But what they don't know, she was right. 

 

As the book is engulfed with sadness, I was taken back by how the story evolved. This characters life is not unheard of and it gives a new perspective to the woman who don't mean to become pregnant and are forced to give up their babies. I defiantly felt for Eli as her life is turned upside in almost every chapter and I felt as if it all came together nicely. 

 

This story is not only a great piece of literature, the story unfolds into much more than just Eli's obsession but digs deeper into the life she left behind years ago. 

 

I would recommend this book.

 

Yours truly,

 

BiblioBeautyBooks

 

Share on Facebook
Share on Twitter
Please reload

This site was designed with the
.com
website builder. Create your website today.
Start Now