top of page

Alienation by S.E.Anderson


5/5

“For a minute, I thought I must be dead. What did death feel like, anyway?”

Sally Webber's dream is coming true: Zander is back and taking her out for a night on the town--on a planet hundreds of light years away from Earth.

But when an accident separates her from her alien tour guide, she’s thrown into the seedy underbelly of an insane city where nothing is as it seems. Suddenly lost and desperate to get back home, Sally is willing to do anything to get out, even if it means accepting spontaneous marriage proposals, crashing some fancy parties, or joining what appears to be the space mob.

All she wanted was some decent interstellar pizza, but now it might be the end of the world as evil nanobots and an out of control AI try to take the universe by force, and the only one who can stop them is missing in action. Sally has no choice but to try to stop them herself--if she can stay alive that long.

I have to give this book a snap applause- I was in love! From the opening chapter to the last page, I was intrigued the entire time. Anderson’s writing never fails to disappoint me and Alienation was and is now one my favourite books! Alienation is the follow-up to Starstruck and honestly, it picked up and left off beautifully! The word choices and adaptation to the last book were spot on and I felt as if nothing was left out. This was an easy and fun read and I could not put it down! I read it in one night, losing sleep of course but it was my favourite book that I’ve read by far!

I loved Sally’s character so much to the point where I could sense her pain, both physically and mentally throughout the book. Sally is thrown into the world of aliens but of course, there is more to this life that meets the eye. I also loved how the characterisation of Sally was portrayed in a raw light as she faces social anxiety and her nerves get the best of her in certain parts of the story. I felt like I wasn’t reading but watching a movie unfold before my eyes as the descriptions of scenes, emotions and characters were absolutely amazing. I’ve never been so thrilled and intrigued while reading a book.

“The possessed were climbing the sides of the building like it was a child's playground. The ones below looked like insects now, like the ground didn't exist anymore.”

I would like to thank S.E. Anderson, for sending me the follow up book to Starstruck in exchange for an honest review. I gave this book 5/5, if I could go higher, I would! This book is definitely added to my Top 5 reads of this year! Way to go Anderson, I can’t wait to read your next book! If you love Young Adult, Science-Fiction and Adventure stories, Alienation is the one for you!


Featured Review
Tag Cloud
No tags yet.
bottom of page