top of page

Ransom Riggs-Hollow City


4/5

September 3, 1940. Ten peculiar children flee an army of deadly monsters. And only one person can help them—but she’s trapped in the body of a bird. The extraordinary journey that began in Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children continues as Jacob Portman and his newfound friends journey to London, the peculiar capital of the world. There, they hope to find a cure for their beloved headmistress, Miss Peregrine. But in this war-torn city, hideous surprises lurk around every corner. And before Jacob can deliver the peculiar children to safety, he must make an important decision about his love for Emma Bloom. I have never read a book so fast then I did while reading Hollow City, I simply could not put the book down. I am not one to share any teasers about books but this a one that kept me thinking about what would happen next. I constantly could not stop thinking about Jacob's safety and what him and the other peculiars would come across. Would they finally get to Miss Peregrine and finally save her, or better yet, themselves? So many parts of the book would make a great horror film, the descriptive environments make for an amazingly scary setting for this novel. Still, so many questions are left unanswered but of course, that's why there is a third book. "We love you, too, Jake, and if it's drugs, or whatever it is, we don't care. We'll get you right again. Like I said, you're confused." "No, Dad. I'm peculiar." I felt so attached to Emma throughout this novel, her quick thinking and will to survive kept me reading and had me on my toes. Jacob and Emma's love really grew throughout this novel through not only an emotional battle but also an adventurous journey they took together. I tend to dig deep into the novels I read and with this specific novel, I drew from the characters "peculiarities". They were all different yet extremely similar as they drew up together, all came from different backgrounds yet grew as a family of differences. I found this profoundly beautiful and memorizing. I love how they refer to themselves as peculiar, and not as different. I believe this gives the book a mystery time of feel, one in which the children know they are different but choose to accept it and live as they should, happily. I cannot wait for the movie of Hollow City to come out, there are so many scenes I pictured that have been imbedded into my mind and I would love to see how they come to life.

Yours truly,

BiblioBeautyBooks

Featured Review
Tag Cloud
No tags yet.
bottom of page