top of page

Pam Jenoff-The Orphan's Tale


I rate this book, 4 out of 5 stars! A powerful novel of friendship set in a traveling circus during World War II, The Orphan's Tale introduces two extraordinary women and their harrowing stories of sacrifice and survival Sixteen-year-old Noa has been cast out in disgrace after becoming pregnant by a Nazi soldier and being forced to give up her baby. She lives above a small rail station, which she cleans in order to earn her keep… When Noa discovers a boxcar containing dozens of Jewish infants bound for a concentration camp, she is reminded of the child that was taken from her. And in a moment that will change the course of her life, she snatches one of the babies and flees into the snowy night. Noa finds refuge with a German circus, but she must learn the flying trapeze act so she can blend in undetected, spurning the resentment of the lead aerialist, Astrid. At first rivals, Noa and Astrid soon forge a powerful bond. But as the facade that protects them proves increasingly tenuous, Noa and Astrid must decide whether their friendship is enough to save one another—or if the secrets that burn between them will destroy everything. I would first like to start by saying I read this book in four hours. I usually let a book linger on for a couple days in order to get other things done but this one I just simply could not put down. I move from one room to the next, constantly reading and trying to guess what would happen next. The book is told from two different points of view: Noa and Astrid's. Both come from similar but different sides of the world and need each other to survive. Astrid's character was my favourite. Her rebellious status gave her such an edge and made her character really stand out. She came across as determined yet she didn't want anyone coming before her in the long run. She fought for the ones she loved and never gave up on not only her dream but her family as well. This is a story that I am so glad was told the way it was. I have read many Holocaust stories but never one like this. Taking risks for another's life gave this book such an uplifting message and storyline that I was captivated with every chapter. I found it a very moving yet extremely sad read. I want to cry for the lives lost but I also want to cry for how amazingly written this book was. I wish the characters would have been in different dilemmas but it was still a great read!

Yours truly,

BiblioBeautyBooks

Featured Review
Tag Cloud
No tags yet.
bottom of page