top of page

Tanya Lloyd Kyi-Anywhere But Here


3/5

Families don’t always turn out like you plan. Sometimes they fall apart when you’re not the least bit ready.

After losing his mom in high school, it takes a lot for Cole to believe in happiness again. Now it's just him, his dad and a past that haunts Cole's mind.

As Cole dreams of leaving his small town and pursing a career in film, he believes his path may not be good enough and as he tries to trust his gut, everything goes downhill. Cole is determined to prove himself in his small town by basing his film "The Web" off it.

I felt the book has a very slow start and the lacked a lot in the plot department. This book had great potential but then left me just confused as to what was the overall idea in the first place.

The main character Cole really confused me as his emotions and actions were all over the place as his thought process just didn't add up to me.

Some of the character actions didn't make sense to me such as Cole's break up with a great girl Lauren and then goes for the "school slut". As their relationship is just physical, I hated how it undermined the woman in the book and made me believe that it was encouraging slut shaming as it seem Hannah was only good for sex. Which really ticked me off.

I felt as if the romance was the buildup of the story as the love triangle always sets a good tone for a twist. Lots of twists but nothing super intriguing.

I would recommend this to any of those who like realistic fiction/contemporary books.


Featured Review
Tag Cloud
No tags yet.
bottom of page