top of page

Tempest by Gianinna Koszegi


3.5/5

Emotions are what make us human. Take that away, and what’s left?

The Tempest is a book about finding who you truly are, through your personality, quirks, flaws, your predetermined job, your significant other and anything else you can dream of. But what one girl doesn’t know, is that she can change it all. Through this romance, contemporary novel, you follow the emotional life of Storm as she falls for Ashton, a popular guy in her school. Each person is given a necklace when they reach 18 which is half a heart and it is very unique because only one person holds the other half. Through tests and facing the EVAL, Storm and Aston must prove finding themselves is worth more than letting their world be torn away from them.

Storm and Ashton are thrown into the EVAL, a series of tasks for living, reminded me of The Hunger Games, the tasks and need for survival was overpowering. I loved the way the characters grew within the book and started to realize who they were and what they wanted to be. The middle to the ending was probably my favourite as it got heavy and kept me wanting to know what would happen next. I liked the twists thrown into the book and how well the ending developed.

“I don’t need a necklace and pamphlet to tell me who I am or who I belong with, when I already know the person who’s right for me.”

I love the thought and creativity put into the story but I felt as if the love was really pushed and when Storm said she didn’t talk to Ashton before and all of a sudden he’s in love with her, really through me off. It seemed really forced and awkward to me as Ashton’s continuous compliments made me feel awkward for Storm. I felt as if the beginning was rushed and I wanted to know more about the characters backgrounds.

I would recommend this book to lovers of YA fiction and romance. Thank you to the author for sending me this for to review. I gave this book a 3/5 because not only is it engaging but it is something romance lovers would truly devour but I found it had to many low points and seemed very 'fake' per say with how fast the romance randomly started. Gianinna wrote a beautiful story and I look forward to buying thus book when it hits the shelves.


Featured Review
Tag Cloud
No tags yet.
bottom of page