top of page

Brothers of Baseball by Kristofor Hellmeister


3.5

Disclaimer: I received an e-copy of this book from the publisher in exchange for an honest review.

“Usually I can just ignore them but it’s when he attacks my players, my friends...That’s what angers me most.”

Ryan hated the move. He hated being uprooted from his home in New York to the rural outskirts of Nashville, Tennessee. But, little did he know of what was in store for him. It would a summer unlike any other. A summer of baseball. A summer of brotherhood. A summer of becoming the young man he had always wanted to become. A summer of change. A summer of war.

I don’t usually read sports books or historical fiction but this was a very nice laid-back read. I related to Ryan in many ways as his life was turned upside down with notice and had to leave behind friends and the life he grew into. I’m not a fan of baseball but the imagery kept me hooked and I thought the description of the game and the thoughts of the characters to be very proactive and gripping.

The main character really tested me at points as I found the character annoying and selfish but he grew to become mature in this coming of age story as the storyline flowed nicely with the twists and turns within the book. I loved how thought of each character was and how each had something memorable about them and weren’t just introduced for fun. The descriptions were spot on and were able to make me visualize what was happening,what the surroundings look like and what the characters were feeling.

The book wasn't really for me, it was a good read but I really couldn't dive into it right away and find myself reading the book again.

I would recommend this book to lovers of a coming of age story, who like baseball and who are the underdog of the story they reside in.


Featured Review
Tag Cloud
No tags yet.
bottom of page