top of page

A Wild and Unremarkable Thing by Jen Castleberry


4/5

I recieved this book from Parliament House Publishing

Following the story of Cody, a girl who is being trained by her father to become a Fire Scale slayer after an attack on her town. Fighting the fight she doesn’t wish to do, Cody must slay the dragon before it’s too late. Cody was Cayda before but her father turned her into a boy at a young age, she was destined for this fate. When a night beast attacks her father in the woods the quest doesn’t only become personal but becomes life or death.

Along the way, you meet characters who are also vying to be the champion, as their life intertwine, the adventure has only just begun.

“A fire scale will set everything right, if Cody can kill it. Cody, not Cayda.”

This fantasy novella was poetic and intriguing as I loved following Cody on her journey of self-discovery and seeking adventure. I loved the present tense, third person perspective and it was perfectly executed. The storyline kept me intrigued and Cody met a lot of interesting people along the way that kept the book twisting with wild and remarkable things.

I loved the throw in of mythology and how the book was clearly back dated as the sisters work in a brothel and creatures still swamped the streets. I loved Penn, he was a breath of fresh air and really gave the book that intimate feeling of Cody letting loose at some points. I loved how well written this book was and I felt the passion within each chapter. I could definitely picture myself reading this book again.

I gave this book at 4/5 because I feel as if the ending was a bit rushed but overall it was very interesting and I look forward to reading more from Jen Castleberry.


Featured Review
Tag Cloud
No tags yet.
bottom of page