top of page

Pigeon-Blood Red by Ed Duncan


4/5

Disclaimer: I received a copy of this book from the author in exchange for an honest review.

"I asked you to bring that necklace with you for a reason."

This refreshing-thriller dives into the complex life of Robert whose life is an unwinding crime.

The Pigeon Blood Red ruby necklace is the centre focus and what drives the characters to be fixated on this gem. The book is set in Chicago as the characters are stereotyped as gangsters and is narrated in third person. When someone dies and the necklace is stolen it can only be connected to one thing- risk.

The chase for the necklace involved many captivating characters as the story was very pleasant to read through and I loved how everything was described thoroughly. If you didn’t understand one part, it was explained. I also enjoyed reading about the background behind the gem, I found it extremely interesting. I loved the detail that went into every character, even those that had a little role.

‘Well, there’s at least one other loose end,”

I loved the accuracy of the book as well. I felt as if I was watching a crime grow before my eyes as the characters dialogue was accurate during the situations. This book was fast paced and gave the reader a mystery type of feel while reading. This was the first book in the trilogy and I look forward to reading more by Ed Duncan.

I would recommend this book to thriller lovers and as well crime and gangster story fanatics. I gave this book a 4 out of 5 because it was an amazing story to follow and I look forward to reading the next installment.


Featured Review
Tag Cloud
No tags yet.
bottom of page