top of page

Heirs of Power by Kay MacLeod


Disclaimer: I received a copy of this book from the author in exchange for an honest review.

4 out of 5 stars

“You are not safe. You never will be. You need to accept that now, coz for the rest of your life you’ll need to be watching yourself and your family.”

After stumbling upon an otherworldly ritual, Kitty Fairlow discovers that her own incredible hunting skills are not merely due to a lifetime of training. She’s been gifted powers from an ancient spirit, passed down by her father. She is a Constellation.And she's not the only one.A new generation of heroes have each inherited unique abilities to prevent the corruption of their world by the Tenebri, a race that thrives on life energy. Kitty, along with a high-born dancer and a snarky juggler, must find their allies before the Tenebri army picks them off.With the powerful enemy emerging, can the Constellations gather in time to put an end to the threat for good, or will their foe succeed and wreak the same destruction they have unleashed on their own world?

The plot was very unique and intriguing. As Kitty is destined for more than just a normal life, her father reveals that she is one of several Constellations. The history behind everything was thoroughly explained and I loved how the characters were connected through so many elements. The dialogue was beautifully written and really kept the flow of the book going!

“She said that she decided that we should all pretend as if she’s a normal person to prevent her from being identified. I got the impression that you may have pushed the issue more than she let on?”

One thing that stood out to me that downed my rating was how the characters were referred to as multiple names and it really through me off, multiple times throughout the book. I loved being able to know their abilities but having a different name for each character made me feel very out of sync with the book almost the entire time.

I also found the book plot repetitive, meaning that many of the sequences of events were already done. The characters would fight, meet someone and than fight them.

I loved the dialogue between the characters as it wasn't so heavy and built up to the plot rather than tearing it down like it does most times in a fast paced book. Macleod did a tremendous job with describing the characters and relaying their feelings to the reader as we watched the story unfold.

I would recommend this book to fantasy lovers who love a great tale or mysterious plots! This book definitely was a great read and I can’t wait to read the next in the Constellations series by Kay MacLeod.

“I am a Constellation. I choose to protect this world. My heritage is a gift.”

You can purchase her book by clicking the following link;


Featured Review
Tag Cloud
No tags yet.
bottom of page