top of page

Reflections by Clifton Kenny


Disclaimer: I received a copy of this book from the author in exchange for an honest review.

3.5 stars.

As Shane Sullivan discovers more about his past than he bargained for, he finds out that he has the ability to talk to people from the past. Living in the late 1970’s this eighth grader is no ordinary boy as he starts to have visions that are nowhere near ordinary. Facing his darkest fears, Shane is set on a journey through this coming of age story to find himself and save himself in a celestial world. In this battle of good versus evil, Reflections will truly make you think.

This book not only made me think a lot but it was also very interesting to read a science fiction book that was also a historical fiction. The combination definitely worked for this book. The beginning was very slow but I enjoyed the book when it started to pick up. I wish I would have learned more about the main characters earlier in the book as the slow start. I liked the main character Shane as he was witty and clever but he also was very down to earth and cared for his friendships alongside the problems at hand.

“If ya truly wanna understand somethin’...go out there and live through it. Take the chance. Go for the big risk.”

You will learn about many secrets passed down throughout the years that never left the soul they derived from. I liked how this idea as unique and kept the reader interested. I liked how the history aspect was mixed in creatively with the supernatural as Shane’s journey wasn’t only coming of age but was also a challenge of his own mind.

The reason I rated this book a 3 out 5 was because I felt as if the story was very slow to start and I didn’t get into the book until a couple chapters in. Also, as the main character is in eighth grade, I felt as if his dialogue was way beyond his years and felt very unrealistic. I also found some phrasing to be weird such as “Lessgosee” and “Sullyfesszt.” It felt very out of place and I just felt like it didn’t fit with the situations. I also felt like the plot was everywhere and the book jumped around a lot so it was hard to follow.


Featured Review
Tag Cloud
No tags yet.
bottom of page