top of page

Diminished Dreams by Shelby Bentil


Disclaimer: I received a copy of this book from the author in exchange for an honest review.

4/5 stars!

“No matter what a woman says, if you chill with them, they catch feelings. They are emotional creatures and every woman wants someone to call their own.”

Diminished Dreams is the story of Castel Rogers, the prettiest girl in her high school has her whole life together and most people who deem as perfect. When Castel finds out she is pregnant, her life is turned upside down and her whole world is destroyed. When her best friend Cherry gets into trouble, everything starts to go more down hill than she ever could have thought. Will her pregnancy result in the loss of her dreams? Read Diminished Dreams by Shelby Bentil, to find out!

Diminished Dreams had a lot of turns as astel, the captain of the cheerleading squad, obviously had issues her position as she was pregnant. Dante, who sleeps around, his revolves around football and believes that Castel’s baby isn’t his. And lastly, Cherry, she sleeps around, does drugs and drinks alcohol and oh top of it all, they are all having problems with each other.

First off, I absolutely loved the plot to this book, it wasn’t to heavy nor did it make me feel overwhelmed while reading it. This was a smooth book to read through and was very intriguing as each characters lives developed throughout the story. As the story continued, I loved the plot twists and the real dialogue that I could picture the characters having with each other as well as the situations.

I loved the character Castel as she is so humbling and captivating to read about throughout the book. Her character made me wish I could give her a hug throughout her hardships and she really hit me hard at some points where she was stuck behind a rock and a hard place.

This book was full of family violence, both physical and emotional, and the twists were very on edge, with I LOVED. Bentil wrote an amazing book and I would definitely recommend this beauty to those who love a good and powerful storyline. I can’t wait for the next book as the ending left off in a place where there can easily be a second book writing.

I am giving this book at 4/5 rating because it was very well done and kept me interested but I did find a few added quotation marks around quotes which kind of through my eyes off and I felt as if the ending was kind of rushed but I loved how the book was written. Way to go Shelby Bentil!

You can purchase Diminished Dreams at Barnes and Nobel by visiting the following link! https://m.barnesandnoble.com/w/diminished-dreams-shelby-bentil/1127879724?ean=9780998970271


Featured Review
Tag Cloud
No tags yet.
bottom of page