top of page

The Last Straw By Ed Duncan


5/5 Stars!

Click the following link to get your copy! https://www.amazon.com/Last-Straw-Pigeon-Blood-Red/dp/1973444003

“Shut up or I’ll kill you”

It started with a run-of-the-mill carjacking. An inner-city kid with no priors and no experience with a gun fumbled the ball, and the driver ended up dead.

A teenage girl witnessed the whole thing, and now a target has been placed on her back. The carjacker’s father, a notorious crime boss, is willing to move heaven and earth to prevent her from testifying, even if that means having a hitman kill her.

Richard “Rico” Sanders, the best in the business, was his first choice for the job. But there was a problem. He was a “killer with a conscience” and a killer with a conscience doesn’t murder teenagers. The crime boss reluctantly turns to someone who has no such qualms, John D’Angelo. There was bad blood between him and Rico, so knowing that Rico had passed on the job, he eagerly accepted it.

Rico forms an uneasy alliance with the girls lawyer, Paul Elliott, to try and protect her from the hitman. As the long-simmering feud between Rico and John D’Angelo reaches boiling point, bodies start to pile up in rapid succession… and old scores will be settled.

After receiving the first installment of the series “Pigeon-Blood Red” from Book Publicity Services, I was asked if I would also like to review the second book and after falling in love with Ed Duncan’s realistic and fantastic writing, I couldn’t say no.

I loved indulging in this crime thriller novel that had me at the edge of my seat the entire book. As the book dug deep into newer relationships and brought forth other characters from the first book, the suspense was powerful and kept me captivated the entire way through. The was immersed in the web of lies from the characters as the story unfolded and was very unpredictable-in a good way!

“If he’d been after me, there’d be no reason for him to wait until now. He’s had thousand opportunities to take a shot at me before now- a thousand chance when there was no possibility that a cop might be showing up any minute.”

Something about this novel that I found different from other crime thrillers that I have read is that not only does the story progress into something that is unimaginable, I found the writing very unique and catchy as I couldn’t put the book down without thinking about what would happen next.

I would recommend The Last Straw by Ed Duncan to those who love crime thriller novels and a great storyline with enticing characters. Thank you Book Publicity Services for sending me a copy to review.


Featured Review
Tag Cloud
No tags yet.
bottom of page