top of page

The Slave Players by Megan Allen


5/5

Disclaimer- I was sent this book from the author in exchange for an honest review.

“Thirteen African Americans Lose Lives in Fiery Bus Crash Most are Teenagers” is what led the national news after the Sheriff in Colby County came across this tragic scene. Modern day in the Deep South. Racial unrest if rampant, and outbreaks of violence reach epidemic proportions. When a church bus makes a wrong turn in the Alabama countryside, a dozen teenage girls become victims of a heinous crime. The resulting outcry is explosive, as a new Civil War erupts, but this time it will be whites who are cast into bondage. And Slave Playing becomes a cruel game of tyranny and survival.

I LOVED Megan Allen’s take on a new era of racism as as the raw and viciously intriguing story brought the compelling truth to racism. Not only did this book dig deep into the hearts of so many but it also brings so many issues of unjustified and explosive crimes that aren’t taken seriously to light. I loved the expressive language and how the story developed smoothly as the book kept me wanting more.

This book was edited to perfection and was far past my emotional toll as this novel gave me so many goosebumps with every page turned. The strong message behind this book was breathtaking and executed in a way that this book is suitable for anyone with an open mind and wanting to read a story they will never forget.

The characters, such as Charlie and Briggs were written profoundly and gave the reader a taste of their mind whenever it was needed. I felt as if I was watching the story unfold before my eyes and witnessing every move in great detail.

I would recommend this book to anyone who loves a compelling story filled with crime, mystery and truth. Thank you Megan Allen for sending me copy for review.


Featured Review
Tag Cloud
No tags yet.
bottom of page