top of page

Leave The Dreaming To The Flowers By Tiifiny Allen


3/5

Disclaimer- I was sent this book from the author in exchange for an honest review.

I was sent Leave The Dreaming To The Flowers by Tiffiny Allen it I was very happy to have the opportunity to read this beautiful woman’s story. I loved a lot of the poems as you can feel the expression through her words but some of them also threw me for a loop. There was many poems that used foul language and in my opinion, I found the this language to be distasteful in this book as if it made the poetry less beautiful and made me focus more so on the language and not the context.

What are You Afraid to Be?

What am I afraid to be?

Well, this question is provoking and caused me to think for a while.

What am I afraid to be?

Afraid to be loud,

afraid to be quiet,

too clingy or not attached enough I am afraid to be an adult thrown into a forced reality.

Afraid to be a burden afraid to be a girl I am afraid to be a leader

for I am not sure of the right way,

and I am afraid to be a follower.

For I don’t know who to follow.

I contradict myself,

I know every word I say battles the other,

just as my life just as my mind.

Consistently fighting myself and not paying attention to the fact that I am loved.

That I am allowed to be loved.

Some days it’s all fine,

and I run around care free other days my mind decides to replay some memories.

I am afraid to be okay because the good things don’t often last.

I have accepted that phrase,

and what I must remind myself in spite of my mind and this world,

is that good things do come,

and if you respect them and give them the proper care, they just might hold on.

I would have also loved to see some illustrations to make the poems stick more inside my mind and gain that visual appeal. The book was also separated into parts (e.x. PART IV) but I felt as if I want it to be titled something different and wanted to know why they were called these parts. Why were they seperated? What made each part difference?

It was a pleasure to read Tiffiny’s poetry and I would recommend this book to those who don’t mind some swear words and beautiful words.


Featured Review
Tag Cloud
No tags yet.
bottom of page